Home Featured | Home Page Election ballot set

Election ballot set

From left: Seth Bluestein, Drew Murray, Mark LaVelle, Aaron Bashir.
From left: Seth Bluestein, Drew Murray, Mark LaVelle, Aaron Bashir.
Judge Dan McCaffery
Jim Hasher

The ballot has been set for the Nov. 7 general election, with judicial races on the left side and city races on the right.

The ballot will be topped by the Supreme Court race between Democrat Daniel McCaffery and Republican Carolyn Carluccio.

Two seats are open on Superior Court. The candidates are Democrats Jill Beck and Timika Lane and Republicans Maria Battista and Harry Smail.

The Commonwealth Court race is between Democrat Matt Wolf and Republican Megan Martin.

There are 13 openings for Common Pleas Court, and all candidates are Democrats.

There are two openings on Municipal Court, and the candidates are Democrats Barbara Thomson and Colleen McIntyre Osborne and Republican Rania Major.

In the race for mayor, Democrat Cherelle Parker and Republican David Oh are squaring off.

There are three candidates for as many seats on the city elections commission, guaranteeing that the three incumbents – Democrats Omar Sabir and Lisa Deeley and Republican Seth Bluestein – will be returning to office.

In the race for city controller, Democrat Christy Brady and Republican Aaron Bashir are running to fill the remainder of the term of Rebecca Rhynhart, who resigned to run for mayor. The Brady/Bashir winner will be back on the ballot in 2025.

Democrat John Sabatina and Republican Linwood Holland are running for register of wills. Sabatina ousted incumbent Tracey Gordon in the primary.

Sheriff Rochelle Bilal, a Democrat, is being challenged by Republican Mark LaVelle.

The City Council at large race features nine candidates, with voters able to choose five. The top seven finishers are elected. The candidates are Democrats Isaiah Thomas, Katherine Gilmore Richardson, Rue Landau, Nina Ahmad and Jim Harrity, Republicans Drew Murray and Jim Hasher and the Working Families Party’s Kendra Brooks and Nicolas O’Rourke.

The following judges are up for retention:

Superior Court: Jack Panella, Victor Stabile.

Court of Common Pleas: Jacqueline Allen, Giovanni Campbell, Anne Marie Coyle, Ramy Djerassi, Joe Fernandes, Holly Ford, Timika Lane, Scott O’Keefe, Paula Patrick, Sierra Thomas Street and Nina Wright Padilla.

Municipal Court: Marissa Brumbach, William Meehan Jr., Brad Moss, David Shuter, Karen Simmons, Marvin Williams and Matt Wolf.

There is one proposed change to the city Home Rule Charter. The question reads, “Should the Philadelphia Home Rule Charter be amended to create an Office for People with Disabilities to coordinate the City’s compliance with requirements to provide access for people with disabilities to City services and programs and to otherwise provide for incorporation of the Office into the City government?” ••

Exit mobile version